27 November - Bridge of Weir Community Council

Bridge of Weir Community Council
Go to content

Main menu:

History > Ice Hockey Club Record > 1931-32

Scottish League (Canada Cup)   Bridge of Weir 1   Dennistoun Eagles 1

"Dennistoun Eagles thoroughly deserved the point which they gained in this Canada Cup match at the Scottish Ice Rink, Crossmyloof, Glasgow last night and they might quite easily have won the game. It was strenuous and thrilling match from start to finish and at times play was over robust.

Bridge of Weir never really struck their true form and Dennistoun played the better ice hockey. Bridge of Weir were clearly upset by the loss of an early goal and a tendency to play too closely was a marked failing.

Dennistoun started off in the ascendancy and threatened danger in their first attack. Play thereafter was even for a while but Bridge of Weir could not break down the Dennistoun defence. Then, came a surprise, when A J Biggar shot a grand puck from the right which gave A Ross no chance to save. Just before the end of the first period, Bridge of Weir were seen at their best for a momentary spell but the siege passed and Dennistoun led by their single goal when the period finished.

Play at the start of the second period was even but when S Stevenson blundered in defence for Dennistoun, I S McLeod went right through. J F Logan, however, came out of his goal to save cleverly. Dennistoun continued to lead one goal to nil at the end of the second period.

In the final period, Bridge of Weir strove hard to equalise but Dennistoun were fighting hard and on one occasion might have added to their score. W M Muirhead had a great drive for Bridge of Weir which just flew past the goal and then came the equalising goal. R E Muirhead scored after a lot of back play had taken place behind the Dennistoun goal, the puck cannoning off the goaltender."

Bridge of Weir: A Ross; G D Rowley and J K Woodrow; I S McLeod, W M Muirhead and R E Muirhead.- W S McLeod, A F Reid and A E McLeod.

Dennistoun Eagles: J F Logan; J H Borland and W W Russell; A J Biggar, S Stevenson and D Edwards.- A S Gray, F Allen and J Jarvie.

Referee: D B A Carty (SIHA).

Back to content | Back to main menu